Print this page
Sunday, 14 November 2021 23:36

Andre Ayew: 'It was a clear penalty' Featured

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Black Stars captain Andre Ayew says the penalty awarded to Ghana against South Africa was legitimate and the team could have got more than just one spot-kick.

Ghana beat South Africa by a lone goal at the Cape Coast stadium on Sunday, with Andre Ayew stepping up in the 33rd minute to convert from the spot.

The Black Stars were awarded a penalty after Daniel Amartey went to ground in the penalty box following a challenge from Rushine De Reuck.

The decision by the referee, Ndiaye Maguette, has been questioned by many as they deemed the call as being soft.

However, the Black Stars skipper, Ayew says it was an obvious penalty for his side, and feels they should have been awarded more than just one penalty.

“It was a clear penalty on [Amartey]. In fact, we had chances to get more penalties and should have been given two more,” Ayew said when asked about the penalty incident during the post-match conference.

The Al-Sadd forward also added that Ghana needed to more after creating a lot of chances against Bafana Bafana at the Cape Coast Stadium.

“I think we had more clear chances. Yes, it was a tough game but we won this game fair and square. We could have scored more,” he concluded.

Following the 1-0 victory against South Africa, Ghana finishes as group leader in Group G, and advance to the playoffs of the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.



Read 616 times