Print this page
Saturday, 26 September 2020 00:21

Bernard Mensah & five others return to Black Stars after YEARS Featured

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Black Stars head coach, Charles Kwablan Akonnor handed invitation to six players who have been out for years for next month clash with Mali.


Ghana will be facing the Eagles of Mali in an international friendly on October 9 in Turkey.

The four-time Africa Cup of Nations champions are preparing for their 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers double-header against Sudan in November.
Turkey-based Bernard Mensah was handed a call-up makes a return to the team for the first time in two years.
Crystal Palace versatile player Jeffery Schlupp has also been invited with Lumor Agbeyenu who is currently plying his trade in Portugal with Sporting CP.
Ghana U23 left-back Gideon Mensah who recently joined Portuguese club Vitória SC on a season-long loan deal from Red Bulls Salzburg is also a returnee after receiving his debut call-up under Coach Avram Grant ahead of the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations tournament.
Egypt-based John Antwi has also made a return to the senior national team of Ghana after three years.
The Pyramid FC attackers has been snubbed since 2017 when he was called up by the then Black Stars coach Kwesi Appiah for the 2018 World Cup qualifier against Uganda.
Lastly, Swiss-based Ghanaian goalkeeper Lawrence Ati-Zigi has also been handed a call-up to the Black Stars after his one-year absence.
Below is the Squad list:
Goalkeepers: Richard Ofori (Maritzburg), Richard Ati Zigi (St. Gallen), Razak Abalora (Unattached)
Full Backs: Benson Anang (Zilina FC), Lumor Agbenyenu (Sporting Club), Yakubu Mohammed (Azam FC), Gideon Mensah (Vitoria de Guimaraes)
Centre Backs: Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg), Joseph Aidoo (Celta de Vigo), Nicholas Opoku (Amiens), Kassim Nuhu (Hoffenheim)
Midfielders: Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid), Emmanuel Lomotey (Amiens), Bernard Mensah (Besiktas), Baba Iddrisu (RCD Mallorca)
Attackers/Wingers: Andre Ayew (Swansea), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), John Antwi (Pyramids FC), Eugene Ansah (Hapoel Shmona), Jefferey Schlupp (Crystal Palace), Samuel Owusu (Al Fayha FC), Kamal Deen (Nordsjaelland SC), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax SC)
Read 711 times